How to stop Twitter revealing your account through your email or phone number

It’s reasonable to assume users are more likely to join a social media platform if people they know are already on it. Yet sometimes the fact that nobody knows you’re there is the entire appeal. For better or worse, having a secret Twitter account allows us to explore sides of ourselves we wouldn’t if we knew our grandmas might see it, posting everything from thirst traps to racism with reckless abandon.

But just because you don’t show Nanna your furry art account, it doesn’t mean she won’t find it and ask awkward questions. Twitter allows users to upload their address book contacts to reveal accounts associated with saved email addresses and phone numbers, which could very quickly blow your cover.

Fortunately, you can opt out of being discovered this way, and keep your undying devotion to Jungkook hidden from your partner for a little while longer. Here’s how to stop people finding your Twitter account through your email or phone number.

  1. Open Twitter.

  2. If you’re on desktop, click on “More…” in the navigation bar on the left to reveal more options. If you’re on mobile, open the navigation bar by tapping on your profile picture in the top left corner.

  3. Click or tap on “Settings and privacy” in the navigation bar.

  4. Click or tap on “Privacy and safety.”

  5. Click or tap on “Discoverability and contacts.”

  6. You will be taken to a menu that allows you to control how others can find your account. Select or toggle whether people can find you via your email or phone number.

You can change these settings at any time, so you can re-enable your discoverability if you suddenly decide to come clean about your online activities.